Kooperative für Darstellungspolitik
Die Kooperative
für Darstellungspolitik
forscht zur Repräsentation
politischer und
kultureller Anliegen
in der Öffentlichkeit.

Edit Film Culture!
Festival, Exhibition, Film Series
Do, 5.7.2018 - So, 22.7.2018

silent green Kulturquartier

Savvy Contemporary
Plantagenstraße 31

Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst

Potsdamer Straße 2

In 1954 in New York City, two displaced persons from Lithuania, Jonas and Adolfas Mekas, founded a film magazine that would come to shape the discourse about the intersections among cinema, society and the arts in the United States and beyond. From 1955 to 1996, there were seventy-nine issues of Film Culture, a periodical and a unique platform for exchanges between filmmakers and audiences, theory and practice, cinema and art. Attending equally to the European avant-garde, Soviet revolutionary cinema, auteurs in Europe and Hollywood and personal filmmakers in the United States, Film Culture featured an eclectic mix of interviews, historical articles, manifestoes, film analyses, artist's writings, poetry, photographic essays and documentary reports on the establishment of independent structures for film production, distribution, and exhibition. Over twenty years since the magazine ceased publication, silent green Film Feld Foschung returns to its history and example and asks what it means to edit film culture today.

With Ale Bachlechner, Erika Balsom, Didi Cheeka, Cinema Poetica, Monica Delgado, desistfilm, Yasmin Desouki, Gina D'Orio, Suliman Elnour, Tamer el Said, Corry Elyda, Hiroko Tasaka, Anton Garber, Martin Grenneberger, Vinzenz Hediger, Birgit Hein, Shai Heredia, Anne König, Anuj Malhotra, Kalani Michell, Abhishek Nilamber, Ara Osterweil, Bert Rebhandl, Susanne Sachsse, Juan A. Suárez, Amy Taubin, Mark Webber, Yvonne Zimmermann and many others.

Edit Film Culture! is a project by silent green Film Feld Forschung gGmbH in cooperation with Jonas Mekas / Anthology Film Archives, Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V., SAVVY Contemporary e.V., Harun Farocki Institut, Spector Books and Lithuanian Culture Institute  

Curatorial team: Christian Hiller, Daniela Kinateder, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, Marc Siegel, Bettina Ellerkamp und Jörg Heitmann

Exhibition architecture: Kooperative für Darstellungspolitik (Jesko Fezer, Anita Kaspar, Andreas Müller, Fynn-Morten Heyer)

Graphic Design: José Delano